MyLawJourney | Monthly Update | June 2016

It feels like forever since I shared with you. I did promise I would not flood your inbox but I just may be taking that promise too far?

Is that what a ‘reasonable person’ would have meant? Oh no, that word, a law student’s best friend or worst nightmare … I will explain that in another post!

So I am back at school after my awesome trip back home in May and second semester is always so intense, like a race that you know you just cannot win.

But for real, here’s what’s been going on with this lawyer to be – bite sizes – my journey! Spoiler alert – this one is a bit lengthy.

Go! Workshop Series – This month it was such an honor and delight to have been the sponsor of the ‘Most Improved Student’ award at Grace Combined School (Alma Mater). It is my opinion that the highest grade does not always reflect the hardest worker and that persistence should be rewarded.

Congratulations Quainn Fontenelle – you deserve this, keep shining! #Grace Combined School 2016.

IMG-20160707-WA0013IMG_20160630_151441

Study – I have learnt that the technique that works for one person will completely fail another. Furthermore a study technique that worked for you at one time may need to be ditched for another season. I have been documenting my habits and  I will share on a special ‘study tips’ post.

EXERCISE – Studies have shown that a good consistent workout will help you study better and increase retention. I do twenty minutes every night, never too late to start. #healthy living. NHS choices Exercise and study.

WORK – St. Luke’s Hospice. I have started a Finance Assistant role with this charity and I mention this part of my journey to encourage you to support your local charity.

In St. Lucia I support CLAS, Children’s Literacy Action Support (formerly CLAP – Program), founded by Miss Virgil Leonty to provide for the physical, spiritual and emotional needs of inner-city children. Why not let her know how you can support her and the Lauren Jolie scholarship fund this year. Children’s Literacy Action Support.

PLAY: Frasier – Wait! Before you think I forget to proofread, I just wanted to share that it is so important to find things to do that are completely about pleasure. I watch sitcoms. My other favourites include Big Bang Theory, Still Standing, Everybody Loves Raymond and Yes dear. I kinda sorta also really love Suits (waiting for new season to start next week). And I know, they are all american shows, I haven’t adjusted to British humor; started watching Nan – reviews next time.

BREXIT – So by now you know that the UK has voted out of The European Union in a referendum held on June 23rd 2016. Information on the current happenings is in overdrive right now so here is a quick history of the UK’s intro into the EU:

  • 1951 European Coal and Steel Community Treaty. After the Second World War, a common market was established for dealing with coal and steel. Only 6 Member States at that time; Belgium,France, West Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and Netherlands.
  • 1957 European Economic Community. Established a common market across all the states – no trade barriers.
  • 1957 Euratom.  Designed to establish single community dealing with peaceful atomic energy.
  • 1965 The Merger Treaty. Merges the Commissions and Council Ministers of the previous treaties, for greater efficiency.
  • 1973 Finally (after much reluctance) UK joins.

I will say that it is quite an interesting time to be studying EU Law in London.                                                         IMG_20160709_013915

 

Things to look forward to:

  • Top study tips from high achieving students across different fields.
  • Summer travels? Law adventures?
  • Speed mooting – Happening for the first time at BPP Waterloo, learn the skill and moot on the same day. I am so excited to be involved in the planning and execution of this, I know it’s going to be great!

Copy of graduate9

 

Thank you for sharing with friends and subscribing if you haven’t yet.

Leave a Reply

